Low Res Headshot MC

Mr Michael Catchpole




Michael Catchpole has extensive experience in business and association management and in government, media and community relations. Michael was Chief Executive of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM) from 2007 to 2016 and previously was Chief Executive of the Plastics and Chemicals Industries Association (PACIA).

He worked as a political journalist and producer in ABC TV news and current affairs and with metropolitan daily newspapers in the period 1981-1996. As an independent consultant, he has provided project and issues management services to the private sector and to government departments and agencies.



Ms Brenda Aynsley

Senior Vice President

Brenda Aynsley OAM, FACS CP is a long time member of the Information Technology profession and a staunch advocate of professionalism in ICT.

She is the Chairman of the International Professional Practice Partnership of IFIP whose mission is to advance global ICT professionalism.

She has worked in Federal and State Government for many years. As an early adopter of the Internet in Australia, she served as the original Customer Services Manager for AARNet. Brenda established Oz Business Partners as a consultancy service to micro businesses and not for profits in 1995.

Brenda is the Immediate Past President of ACS and has been the National President (2014-15), Vice President twice (2002-03, 2010-2011) during which time she chaired the ACS Ageism Task Force producing the Improving Age Diversity in the ICT Workforce report in July 2010 and in 2015 lauched the Promise of Diversity - Gender Equality in the ICT Profession position paper. She was responsible for ACS' adoption of the SFIA Framework and the implementation of the ACS Certification Program.

Brenda was made a Fellow of the ACS in 2003 and in 2014 was awarded an OAM for her services to the information and communications technology sector.

Brenda's academic qualifications include Bachelor of Arts, Diploma in Social Sciences, Graduate Diploma in Applied Science (Computing). 


Ms Gail Mulcair

Junior Vice President

Gail Mulcair is the Chief Executive Officer of Speech Pathology Australia and has held this position over the last decade. Having originally trained and practised as a speech pathologist for just short of 20 years, Gail initially moved into association management in other health fields including holding executive roles at Breastfeeding Australia and the Podiatry Association (Victoria). A full circle in returning to the speech pathology profession saw Gail combine her commitment to the needs of those with communication and swallowing difficulties alongside skills in governance, strategic planning, member services, government relations and advocacy.

Gail's qualifications include a M Business, Grad Dip Management, B App Sc (Speech Pathology), MAICD. She is also a Director of Allied Health Professions Australia.

 Klaus Veil

Mr Klaus D Veil

Honorary Treasurer


With over 30 years of professional experience and significant contributions to e-Health and healthcare technology, Klaus Veil is internationally recognised as a leader and expert in Healthcare Information Technology and eHealth Interoperability Standards Development.

Klaus has held senior leadership positions in commercial and not-for-profit healthcare organisations: seven years as CIO of a large private Australian healthcare corporation, 16 years as Principal of a specialist healthcare systems consultancy, 11 years as Chairman of the Australian HL7 organisation, eight years as Board Member of the international HL7 Standards organisation and six years as President/Vice-President of the Australasian College of Health Informatics.Through these positions, Klaus has established excellent working relationships with government healthcare policy makers and industry in Australia and beyond.

 Stephen-DurkinSmall Mr Stephen Durkin



Stephen Durkin is CEO of Engineers Australia, the peak professional body for the engineering profession in Australia.

Stephen graduated from Monash University with an Honours Degree in Civil Engineering in 1986. In his early career, Stephen worked as a consulting engineer across Australia, Canada and Asia and in 1993, was named EA's Victorian Young Engineer of the Year.

Upon completing an MBA in 1995, Stephen moved to the financial services industry where he worked for National Australia Bank for the next sixteen years in corporate strategy, change management, marketing and executive leadership positions.

Being exposed to a range of leadership styles has driven Stephen’s career interests in cultural change, creating high performance teams and running innovative and customer-focused businesses.

Since being appointed as CEO in January 2012, Stephen Durkin has been leading a major transformation across Engineers Australia. This change program has been focused on Engineers Australia being a more member-focused organisation with a greater external orientation.

 Adam Awty A51-small

Mr Adam Awty


Adam is currently Chief Operating Officer, Commercial, CFO and Company Secretary for CPA Australia. He is responsible for the provision of strategic advice to the Chief Executive and Board on financial, commercial and business strategy. With a responsibility for more than 200 staff across 19 offices internationally. Adam leads the corporate services functions including brand and business development portfolios.

Adam has extensive public policy and government relations experience having worked and continuing to be involved in the public sector.

Adam is also Chair or member of a number of Government Audit Committees and a NED on Pillars of Strength is a not for profit organisation dedicated to providing “Time Out” and “In Hospital Support” programs for dads while their baby is ill and to bereaved dads after the loss of their infant child.

Prior to CPA Australia, Adam worked with the Victorian Government Departments of Treasury and Finance and Human Services.





The Directors (other than the Immediate Past President, whose directorship is ex officio) are elected annually at the Annual General Meeting. No office bearer can hold any one office of President, Senior Vice-President, Junior Vice-President or Honorary Treasurer for more than two consecutive years.